visit360.net, the guide to wonders of the world in 360°
The former parish church of Bruck an der Leitha, St. Martin's church outside the city walls was destroyed several times by the Turks. Thus, the Council decided to build a new church within the city. This Roman Catholic parish church of Holy Trinity was erected during the first phase (1696-1702) in the middle of town next to a much older 53-meter high watch tower. The second phase (1738 - 1740) meant replacement of the simple facade with a magnificent two-storey facade, a work of architect Johann Georg Windpässinger.
According to some speculations, this place could be a Roman shrine of Aphrodite that was converted into a shrine of Mary. In fact the village was mentioned first in 1324 as a popular place of pilgrimage. At that time it was called as "Zenmária" (Szent Mária, Holy Virgin). The medieval church was destroyed in 1529 by the Turks and it remained a ruin for over 100 years. The church was rebuilt only when it came into the possession of Prince Paul Esterházy. The work was completed by 1680, but unfortunately it was again destroyed by the Turks in 1683. The architect Francesco Martinelli was commissioned by the prince in 1695 with the construction of the church that lasted till 1702.
Built for Emperor Charles VI. in 1711 by Lukas von Hildebrandt, Halbturn palace became a summer and sporting residence of the Austrian Emperor and his household. Visitors can now stroll around the large park, participate in tasting of exquisite bottles from the winery or enjoy local cuisine in the restaurant. A wing of the palace has been converted into a hotel where romantic, comfortably-modern furnished rooms and junior suites invite the guests to stay.